Biosecurity award winners announced

​​​Nic Hansen and Robyn Lewis have been named as the winners of the first ever Tasmanian Biosecurity Awards.

The Tasmanian Biosecurity Awards were developed to honour individuals within industries and communities that have made a significant contribution to the state’s biosecurity.

There are two categories for the awards, the Tasmanian Community Biosecurity Award and the Tasmanian Industry Biosecurity Award.

Robyn Lewis was the winner of the Tasmanian Community Biosecurity Award for her significant involvement in the management and conservation of the Milford Forest.

Nic Hansen was the winner of the Tasmanian Industry Biosecurity Award for his avid support of the development and improvement of biosecurity in Tasmania.

Over the years Robyn has successfully implemented strong biosecurity measures on the Milford Forest property. Among other things including surveys, research and conservation work, Robyn has worked with many external contractors, researchers, tourists and other visitors, to educate those who access the property on good biosecurity practices.

While Nic Hansen has worked closely with Horticulture Australia and the National Fruit Fly Council on biosecurity matters and regulation as well as being involved in the 2018 fruit fly emergency response in Tasmania. 

Other nominees of the awards included forensic biologist and beekeeper Charles Connor, community-oriented organisation supporting cat and kitten welfare, Just Cats Inc, Bill Oosting who has been in the Tasmanian beekeeping community for over 50 years and Michael Rocca who provides significant support to the Northwest Beekeeping Association while also managing his own apiary.

Winners of the awards were determined by a committee of independent stakeholders from the Tasmanian Farmers and Graziers Association, Fruit Growers Tasmania, Biosecurity Tasmania and the Tasmanian Biosecurity Advisory Committee, following a public call for nominees.   

For more information, visit the Tasmanian Biosecurity Awards page.

Biosecurity award 2023 winners

Tasmanian Biosecurity award 2023 winners Nic Hansen and Robyn Lewis