Stephanie Trethewey announced as 2022 TAS AgriFutures Rural Women's Award Winner

​​​​Stephanie Trethewey was announced as the 2022 TAS AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award Winner at an award ceremony at Parliament House on Thursday 5 May. 

RWARWA 22 From left to right: Sally Murfet (finalist), Rebekah Frankcombe (Chair TWiA), Karen Brock (2020 RWA TAS winner), Kate Field (finalist), Stephanie Trethewey (2022 RWA TAS winner), Jo Palmer (Minister for Primary Industries and Water), Gayle Hendricks-Cox (Westpac representative and TAS judging panel member) and Angela Wakeman (AgriFutures representative).

The AgriFutures Rural Women’s Award celebrates the inclusive and courageous leadership of women involved in Australia’s rural and emerging industries, businesses, and communities, now and into the future. ​

Stephanie created Australia’s first personalised online rural mothers group program to provide greater opportunities for rural mums across the country to find connection and support, regardless of their location. 

Based in Dunorlan, a small rural community in north-west Tasmania, Stephanie created Motherland Village with the hope of eliminating the crippling isolation many rural mums face. 

Since launching Motherland Village, Stephanie has partnered with a hospital in the Northern Territory to ensure new mothers have access to her program before they leave the hospital. Stephanie hopes to expand this and partner with other hospitals around Australia. 

Stephanie joins a long list of inspiring, influential and innovative women across Australia who have been recognised for their contributions over the now 23-year history of the Award. 

As the state Award winner, Stephanie received a $15,000 Westpac grant and will also receive a further $7,500 for professional development. 

Stephanie will now go on to participate in a three-day workshop alongside other state and territory winners to focus on refining her winning project, before representing Tasmania at the national awards in September. 

Tasmania’s other two state finalists received a leadership and skills development bursary sponsored by Tasmanian Women in Agriculture. Sally Murfet is the winner of the Encouragement Award and a $2,000 training bursary, and Kate Field is awarded a $1,000 Development Award. 

Congratulations to all finalists on this incredible achievement.​