Land use classification

​​​​​Land use mapping uses the Australian Land Use and Management (ALUM) Classification system which provides a nationally consistent method to collect and present land use information for a wide range of users. The classification emphasises the degree of modification to the natural landscape, attributes processes and outputs, and is a hierarchical structure and records primary land use. The classification has six primary classes of land use and is in order of increasing levels of intervention. ALUM Classification v8 includes fields to collect commodity and land management practice information.  This allows more detailed information about crops, livestock and management techniques. 

Further information is available on the Department of Agriculture, Fisheries and Forestry ALUM Classification​ webpage.

​Click on image for a larger view
If printing image, please select A3
This image is the Australian Land Use and Management (ALUM) Classification


Tasmanian Land Use

134 Macquarie Street,
Hobart, TAS, 7000.