Areas of the Danish Seine Fishery

​​​Danish seines can only operate within Tasmania's Coastal Waters, which generally extends from the coast out to three nautical miles (5.5 kilometres). Within this area further restrictions have been implemented to provide equitable access to the various user groups as well as providing adequate stock protection measures. To this end all waters within 1 nautical mile of the Tasmanian coast are closed to Danish seine, with the exception of Ile des Phoques (White Rock).

A number of other river mouths and protected bays and inlets are also closed to fishing including the River Derwent and the D'Entrecasteaux Channel. Provided below are three maps detailing the closed areas and access restrictions in high use regions of the State.

Click on the thumbnails to view larger maps:

Map 1: South East
Thumbnail map showing Danish Seine Prohibited  Area - South East Coast
Map 2: East Coast
Thumbnail map showing Danish Seine Prohibited Area - Mercury Passage and Great Oyster Bay
Map 3: North Coast
Thumbnail Map Showing Danish Seine Prohibited Area - North Coast


Commercial Scalefish
Frances Seaborn
Level 3, 134 Macquarie Street
GPO Box 44
Phone: 0457 006 821