Carnivorous Marsupials and Bandicoots

​​​​​​The carnivorous marsupials belong to the order Dasyuromorphia which includes the Dasyuridae (quolls, devils, antechinuses) and Thylacinidae (thylacine) families, and the bandicoots belong to the order Peramelemorphia and the family Peramelidae.

In this topic

  • Swamp Antechinus
    The swamp antechinus is a similar weight to its relative, the dusky antechinus, but is distinguished by its slightly shorter snout.
  • Tasmanian Devil
    The world's largest surviving carnivorous marsupial, the devil has a thick-set, squat build, with a relatively large, broad head and short, thick tail. Devil Facial Tumour Disease threatens the existence of this internationally-recognised icon.
  • Tasmanian Tiger
    The thylacine, or Tasmanian tiger, is one of the most fabled animals in the world. Yet, despite its fame, it is one of the least understood of Tasmania's native animals.
  • Tasmania's Carnivorous Marsupials
    There are over 40 species of carnivorous marsupials - six are found in Tasmania.


Natural Values Conservation

Level 5, 134 Macquarie Street, Hobart GPO Box 44,
Hobart , TAS, 7001.